Item added to your cart.

The Pounding System
Dub Syndicate
On-U Sound
Catalogue Number
Release Date
January 1, 1982
  • Vinyl, 1×LP

    Read More
    • + MP3


    • Housed in reverse board sleeve with printed inner
    • Sleevenotes by Steve Barker (On The Wire)
    • Re-cut at Dubplates & Mastering in Berlin
    • Includes download card with bonus track

    Released: November 11, 2017
    In stock, shipping now.

The debut Dub Syndicate set from 1982, pre-dating the involvement of mainstay Style Scott. This features various members of Creation Rebel and African Head Charge turning out a wild dub set, with hard-hitting rhythms and FX-mutated melodies phasing in and out of the mix.

Recorded quickly with track titles cheekily poking fun at the contemporary series by The Scientist which pitted him against various b-movie foes. The tunes themselves however are deadly serious, with version excursions on some classic On-U vocal cuts such as “Bedward The Flying Preacher” and “Across The Red Sea”, and a continuing commitment by producer Adrian Sherwood to take his love of reggae and filter it through his exploratory and uniquely English approach.

Vinyl reissue re-cut at Dubplates & Mastering in Berlin. Includes printed inner with sleevenotes by Steve Barker (On The Wire) and download card with bonus track.

Digital Track List

  1. 1 Pounding System 5:19 Buy
  2. 2 Hi-Fi Gets a Pounding pts. 1 & 2 5:29 Buy
  3. 3 "African Head Charge" - Don't Care About Space Invader Machines Pts. 1 & 2 6:41 Buy
  4. 4 Fringe On Top Dub 4:24 Buy
  5. 5 Humourless Journalists Work to Rules 3:54 Buy
  6. 6 10K at 0VU - 60HZ - Mind Boggles! 4:05 Buy
  7. 7 Crucial Tony Tries to Rescue the Space Invaders (With Only 10p) 3:22 Buy
  8. 8 Hi-Fi Gets A Pounding pt. 3 4:09 Buy
  9. 9 Return to Stage One 3:04 Buy
  10. 10 Gather at the River 4:07 Buy

Dub Syndicate

View More
--:-- --:--

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy.

Accept Cookies
Edit cookies preferences